From Bookforum, Roamin' Legions: Fifty years after the publication of On the Road, the question remains: Where was Kerouac going? (and more, and more from American Heritage). The Beats gave us a plague of lazy writers: Like it or not, they're responsible for turning impressionable young males into seriously bad authors. From TLS, a review of The Company They Keep: C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien as writers in community by Diana Pavlac Glyer; a review of Cultural Amnesia: Notes in the margin of my time by Clive James; and 150 years after the birth of Joseph Conrad, a look back to E. V. Lucas's 1907 review of The Secret Agent — a book which reminds us "how simple men really are". A review of The Several Lives of Joseph Conrad by John Stape.  A review of Joseph Conrad: His Moral Vision, by George A. Panichas. 

From Ralph, a review of The Book That Changed My Life: 71 Remarkable Writers Celebrate The Books that Matter Most to Them. From American, a review of The Artful Edit: On the Practice of Editing Yourself by Susan Bell.  Giving a book a high quotation: A carefully chosen epigraph can add an extra dimension, but trying to look learned will get you nowhere. Fans of books like Eats, Shoots and Leaves have nothing to fear. There is no reason to suppose that America is on its way to no one knowing the difference between quotation marks and emphasis. One of the week's best invented words: Remasculate: "to regain one's masculinity after engaging in a less-than-masculine activity". Are litblogs making writers risk-averse? How would the literary New Puritans have fared if they had launched their movement in the days of the blogosphere? 

A review of The Cult of the Amateur: How today's internet is killing our culture by Andrew Keen. From The Economist's "Technology Quarterly", the idea of sending information through the air in the form of flashes of light is being given a high-tech makeover. The online numbers game: Measuring web traffic is far from an exact science, and that's a big problem for online advertisers. From OJR, how Robin Miller saved hundreds of newspapers... and won $2000. From New York, hard-charging editor-in-chief Col Allan spent the last year at the center of one embarrassing Post incident after another. But he remains the undaunted master of the tabloid art, and he can still drink you under the table. The celebrity interview is dead: Lennon's attack on McCartney, Nixon's near-confession, Bacon's revelations: none of these could have happened today.

Advertisement