Powell's Bookstore

previous events

  • Culture Crash: The Killing of the Creative Class

    A persistent economic recession, social shifts, and technological change have combined to put our artists — from graphic designers to indie-rock musicians, from architects to booksellers — out of work. Scott Timberg's Culture Crash (Yale) looks deeply into the roots of the crisis of the creative…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Mary Pilon: The Monopolists

    Mary Pilon's The Monopolists: Obsession, Fury, and the Scandal behind the World's Favorite Board Game (Bloomsbury Publishing) reveals the unknown story of how Monopoly came into existence, the reinvention of its history by Parker Brothers and multiple media outlets, the lost female originator of the…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • John Benditt: The Boatmaker

    A fierce and complicated man wakes from a fever dream compelled to build a boat and sail away from the isolated island where he was born. Encountering the wider world for the first time, the reluctant hero falls into a destructive love affair, is swept up into a fanatical religious movement, and …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Matt Sumell: Making Nice

    In Matt Sumell's blazing, heartbreaking first book, Making Nice (Henry Holt & Company), our rage-filled hero Alby is flailing wildly against the world around him. It seems he is the angriest young man in the history of angry young men, and in each of these stories, we watch him run at life with a …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Palestine Speaks: Narratives of Life under Occupation

    The occupation of the West Bank and Gaza has been one of the world's most widely reported yet least understood human rights crises for over four decades. Editors Cate Malek and Mateo Hoke spent the last four years conducting dozens of interviews with people in the West Bank and Gaza about life in …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Kyle Boelte in Conversation with Justin Hocking

    At age 30, Kyle Boelte finds himself living in San Francisco, where the summer fog blows inland off the ocean and the landscape changes moment to moment. Amidst this ever-changing sea of fog, Boelte struggles to remember his brother Kris, who committed suicide in the family's Denver home when Boelte…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Carmen Boullosa: Texas, The Great Theft

    Described by Roberto Bolaño (2666, The Savage Detectives) as "Mexico's greatest woman writer," Carmen Boullosa is an imaginative author in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and César Aira. With her latest novel, Texas: The Great Theft (Deep Vellum), Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity

    How did the Vietnam War change the way we think of ourselves as a people and a nation? Christian G. Appy, author of the widely praised and critically acclaimed oral history of the Vietnam War, Patriots, now examines the relationship between the war's realities and myths and its impact on our national…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • David Treuer: Prudence

    On a sweltering day in August 1942, Frankie Washburn returns to his family's rustic Minnesota resort for one last visit before he joins the war as a bombardier. Awaiting him are those he's about to leave behind: his hovering mother; the distant father to whom he's been a disappointment; the Indian …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

    David J. Morris's The Evil Hours (Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) is a moving, eye-opening exploration of post-traumatic stress disorder. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Arthur Bradford: Turtleface and Beyond

    Turtleface and Beyond (Farrar Straus Giroux) features darkly funny stories by Arthur Bradford, the man David Sedaris calls "the most outlandish and energetic writer I can think of." Paddling down a remote, meandering river, Georgie's friend Otto decides to do something both spectacular and stupid: …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Joyce Carol Oates: The Sacrifice

    Bestselling author Joyce Carol Oates returns with an incendiary new novel that illuminates the tragic impact of sexual violence, racism, brutality, and power on innocent lives and probes the persistence of stereotypes, the nature of revenge, the complexities of truth, and our insatiable hunger for …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • John Vaillant: The Jaguar's Children

    A gripping survival story of a young man trapped, perhaps fatally, during a border crossing, The Jaguar's Children (Houghton Mifflin) is the debut novel from John Vaillant, bestselling author of The Tiger and The Golden Spruce. Héctor is in trouble. The water truck, sealed to hide its human cargo,…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Let's Talk Books: Our Favorites of the Season

    Every year we handpick our favorite books for inclusion in our Holiday Gift Guide. Join us for a special presentation by our new book buying team where they will discuss some of the hottest and most compelling books of the season.

  • Robbie Rogers

    In Coming Out to Play (Penguin), Robbie Rogers takes readers on his incredible journey from terrified teenager to trailblazing out-and-proud professional soccer player for the L.A. Galaxy.

  • Garth Stein

    Garth Stein, author of The Art of Racing in the Rain, presents A Sudden Light (Simon & Schuster), his spellbinding and atmospheric new novel in which a boy trying to save his parents' marriage uncovers a vast legacy of family secrets.

Advertisement