• s

  • m

  • t

  • w

  • h

  • f

  • s

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

  • 6

  • 7

  • 8

  • 9

  • 10

  • 11

  • 12

  • 13

  • 14

  • 15

  • 16

  • 17

  • 18

  • 19

  • 20

  • 21

  • 22

  • 23

  • 24

  • 25

  • 26

  • 27

  • 28

  • 29

  • 30

  • 31

  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

  • 6



Portland

  • Megan Kruse - Call Me Home

    Megan Kruse's Call Me Home (Hawthorne Books) braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at 19 to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two children, Jackson and Lydia, who are rocked by their parents' abusive relationship. At its heart, …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Who We Be: The Colorization of America

    Race: The greatest social divide in American life, a half-century ago and today. During that time, the U.S. has seen the most dramatic demographic and cultural shifts in its history, what can be called the colorization of America. But the same nation that elected its first Black president is still …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Elisa Albert in Conversation with Robin Romm

    After Birth (Houghton Mifflin) is the fierce new novel from Elisa Albert, in which childbirth and new motherhood are as high stakes a proving ground as any combat zone. With piercing insight, purifying anger, and outrageous humor, Albert issues a wake-up call to a culture that turns its new mothers…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Carlos Reyes: The Keys to the Cottage

    Poet Carlos Reyes has an almost Joycean ear for the nuances of Irish speech and in The Keys to the Cottage: Stories from the West of Ireland (Lost Horse), he catches the energy and music of the talk of a rural Ireland that scarcely exists anymore. A rich, gentle humor suffuses The Keys to the Cottage,…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Robert Scheer: They Know Everything about You

    Robert Scheer's They Know Everything about You (Nation) is a groundbreaking exposé of how government agencies and tech corporations monitor virtually every aspect of our lives, and a fierce defense of privacy. Scheer argues that the information revolution contains the seeds of freedom's destruction…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Paul Beatty: The Sellout

    A biting satire about a man's isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, Paul Beatty's The Sellout (Farrar Straus Giroux) showcases a comic genius at the top of his game. It challenges the sacred tenets of the Constitution, urban life, the civil rights movement, the…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Jane Hirshfield - The Beauty

    The Beauty (Knopf), an incandescent new collection from Jane Hirshfield, one of American poetry's most distinctive and essential voices, opens with a series of poems using materials sometimes familiar, sometimes unexpected, to explore the magnitude, singularity, and permeability of our shared existence.…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Smith Henderson: Fourth of July Creek

    In Fourth of July Creek (Ecco Press), Smith Henderson explores the complexities of freedom, community, grace, suspicion, and anarchy, brilliantly depicting our nation's disquieting and violent contradictions. After trying to help Benjamin Pearl, an undernourished, nearly feral 11-year-old boy living…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • David Vann - Legend of a Suicide

    David Vann's dazzling debut, Legend of a Suicide, established him as a literary master. Aquarium (Atlantic Monthly Press), Vann's implosive new book, takes us into the heart of a brave young girl whose longing for love and capacity for forgiveness transforms the damaged people around her. Relentless…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Sarah Manguso: Ongoingness

    In her dazzling new book, Ongoingness (Graywolf), Sarah Manguso confronts a meticulous diary that she has kept for 25 years. "I wanted to end each day with a record of everything that had ever happened," she explains. But this simple statement belies a terror that she might forget something important.…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Skip Horack in Conversation with Adam Johnson: The Other Joseph

    In the tradition of Russell Banks and Jim Harrison, Skip Horack's The Other Joseph (Ecco) masterfully depicts a life driven off the rails by tragedy and sin. Horack's new novel is a spellbinding, explosive tale of a man nearly defeated by life given one last chance at redemption — one last shot to…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Load Poems Like Guns: Women's Poetry from Herat, Afghanistan

    Load Poems Like Guns: Women's Poetry from Herat, Afghanistan (Holy Cow Press) is a groundbreaking collection of poetry by eight contemporary Afghan women poets in English translation en face with the original Persian Dari text. Afghan poet Somaya Ramesh and American poet/translator Farzana Marie will…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Sy Safransky

    In 1974, Sy Safransky borrowed $50 to start The Sun. As the magazine has grown, he's become a busy editor and publisher, but he still gets up before sunrise to write in his journal, publishing excerpts in a section of the magazine called "Sy Safransky's Notebook." Many Alarm Clocks (The Sun) offers…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • James Hannaham - Delicious Foods

    Held captive by her employers — and by her own demons — on a mysterious farm, a widow struggles to reunite with her young son in this uniquely American story of freedom, perseverance, and survival. In Delicious Foods (Little Brown), James Hannaham tells the gripping story of three unforgettable…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • A.J. Swoboda - A Glorious Dark

    Real, raw, and achingly honest, A Glorious Dark (Baker) meets readers in the ambiguity, doubt, and uncertainty we feel when our beliefs about the world don't match up to reality. Tackling tough questions like "Why is faith so hard? Why do I doubt? Why does God allow me to suffer?," Theophilus pastor…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Quan Barry - She Weeps Each Time You're Born

    Quan Barry's luminous fiction debut, She Weeps Each Time You're Born (Pantheon), brings us the tumultuous history of modern Vietnam as experienced by a young girl gifted with the otherworldly ability to hear the voices of the dead. Employing magical realism, the novel reconstructs a turbulent historical…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Emily Nagoski - Come As You Are

    Emily Nagoski's Come as You Are (Simon & Schuster) is an essential exploration of why and how women's sexuality works — based on groundbreaking research and brain science. Cutting-edge research across multiple disciplines tells us that the most important factor for women in creating and sustaining…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
Advertisement