• s

  • m

  • t

  • w

  • h

  • f

  • s

  • 7

  • 8

  • 9

  • 10

  • 11

  • 12

  • 13

  • 14

  • 15

  • 16

  • 17

  • 18

  • 19

  • 20

  • 21

  • 22

  • 23

  • 24

  • 25

  • 26

  • 27

  • 28

  • 29

  • 30

  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

  • 6

  • 7

  • 8

  • 9

  • 10

  • 11



  • Cathy Anello - Six Months to Live

    In her new book, Six Months to Live: Making Each Day Matter, author Cathy Anello asks the question, “If you were told you only had six months to live – What would you be doing differently than what you are doing today?” This question was inspired by a wakeup call in her own life with an added …

    In her new book, Six Months to Live: Making Each Day Matter, author Cathy Anello asks the question, “If you were told you only had six months to live – What would you be doing differently than what you are doing today?”

    This question was inspired by a wakeup call in her own life with an added diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder after years of working in corporate America.

    “This book will help you uncover some of your deepest desires to living a happier life right now, focus on what’s really important and stop looking to the future for the answers as if tomorrow is a given,” Anello says, adding that she aims to help people let go of things that don’t serve them, and focus on forgiveness, stress reduction, family and friends.

    “We are all looking for one thing. Happiness. In today’s world, far too many events lead to momentary instant sometimes traumatic changes in our daily lives and on a global level where our lives can be changed in an instant at the hands of others,” she explains. “This book is hoping to inspire people to leave their loved ones every day by saying I love you, it is hoping to inspire people to go for their dreams & seek out joy every day. Find what makes them feel most alive!”

    Cathy Anello is a certified angel card intuitive, author, fitness instructor and mentor. Her passion for spirituality and emotional health evolved into a two-decade-long part-time stint as an aerobics instructor, leading classes and motivating people to strengthen their bodies through movement, their minds with humor and their spirits through thought-provoking questions. She authors “cathslife” at www.cathslife.com, a weekly blog on self-love, family love and global love issues.

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT

upcoming events

  • The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

    The Most Dangerous Place on Earth is a debut novel for readers of Everything I Never Told You and Prep, which unleashes a colorful cast of characters into one of the world’s most dangerous places: the American high school. In an edenic community of wealthy Bay Area families, Molly Nicholl, a …

    The Most Dangerous Place on Earth is a debut novel for readers of Everything I Never Told You and Prep, which unleashes a colorful cast of characters into one of the world’s most dangerous places: the American high school.

    In an edenic community of wealthy Bay Area families, Molly Nicholl, a replacement teacher from a poorer, scrubbier version of California arrives in the middle of the school year and soon becomes intrigued by the hidden lives of her privileged students. Unknown to her, a tragedy from middle school years continues to reverberate for “her” kids. Among these are Callista, a hippie outcast who hides her intelligence for reasons of her own; Ryan the star pitcher and sex object; Dave, the nice kid whose parents’ obsession with his SAT scores threatens to upend his life; Emma, a dancer who balances her dreams of bright stagelights with wildness on the weekends, and Nick, the uneasy kingpin of schemes and pranks and parties. These teens are all navigating a world in which every action may become public—postable, shareable, indelible, a world that Molly finds both alluring and dangerous.

    Lindsey Lee Johnson holds an MFA from the University of Southern California and a BA in English from the University of California at Davis. She has taught writing at UCSC, Clark College, and Portland State.

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Emily Fridlund - History of Wolves (Corte Madera)

    A BEA Buzz Book Selection and one of the most daring literary debuts of the season, History of Wolves is a profound and propulsive novel from an urgent, new voice in American fiction “So delicately calibrated and precisely beautiful that one might not immediately sense the sledgehammer of pain …

    A BEA Buzz Book Selection and one of the most daring literary debuts of the season, History of Wolves is a profound and propulsive novel from an urgent, new voice in American fiction

    “So delicately calibrated and precisely beautiful that one might not immediately sense the sledgehammer of pain building inside this book. And I mean that in the best way. What powerful tension and depth this provides!”—Aimee Bender

    Fourteen-year-old Linda lives with her parents in the beautiful, austere woods of northern Minnesota, where their nearly abandoned commune stands as a last vestige of a lost counter-culture world. Isolated at home and an outlander at school, Linda is drawn to the enigmatic, attractive Lily and new history teacher Mr. Grierson. When Mr. Grierson is charged with possessing child pornography, the implications of his arrest deeply affect Linda as she wrestles with her own fledgling desires and craving to belong.

    And then the young Gardner family moves in across the lake and Linda finds herself welcomed into their home as a babysitter for their little boy, Paul. It seems that her life finally has purpose but with this new sense of belonging she is also drawn into secrets she doesn’t understand. Over the course of a few days, Linda makes a set of choices that reverberate throughout her life. As she struggles to find a way out of the sequestered world into which she was born, Linda confronts the life-and-death consequences of the things people do—and fail to do—for the people they love.

    Winner of the McGinnis-Ritchie award for its first chapter, Emily Fridlund’s propulsive and gorgeously written History of Wolves introduces a new writer of enormous range and talent.

    Emily Fridlund grew up in Minnesota and currently resides in the Finger Lakes region of New York. Her fiction has appeared in a variety of journals, including Boston Review, Zyzzyva, Five Chapters, New Orleans Review, Sou’wester, New Delta Review, Chariton Review, The Portland Review, and Painted Bride Quarterly. She holds a PhD in Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Southern California. Fridlund’s collection of stories, Catapult, was a finalist for the Noemi Book Award for Fiction and the Tartts First Fiction Award. It won the Mary McCarthy Prize and will be published by Sarabande in 2017. The opening chapter of History of Wolves was published in Southwest Review and won the 2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction.

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Alex George - Setting Free the Kites

    From the author of the “lyrical and compelling” (USA Today) novel A Good American comes Setting Free the Kites, the powerful story of the unintended consequences that friendship, hope, and obsession impose on two families in crisis. Haverford, Maine, is a town that’s easily overlooked. So is Robert…

    From the author of the “lyrical and compelling” (USA Today) novel A Good American comes Setting Free the Kites, the powerful story of the unintended consequences that friendship, hope, and obsession impose on two families in crisis.

    Haverford, Maine, is a town that’s easily overlooked. So is Robert Carter, an eighth-grader in 1976 who’s a ready target for the class bully. That is, until the first day of school and a new kid appears: Nathan Tilly. Nathan is fearless, impetuous, and obsessed with kites and flying. As Robert and Nathan become friends, they’re drawn into each other’s families, where they witness unexpected tragedy and learn that all families can harbor secrets. When summer arrives, both boys work at the local amusement park owned by Robert’s family, and it’s there that Robert and Nathan begin to learn some harsh truths about family, desire and revenge. Honest and heartfelt, with echoes of novels by Wally Lamb and John Irving, Setting Free the Kites is both a poignant coming-of-age story and a moving family drama that explores the terrible costs of misplaced hope.

    Alex George is an Englishman who lives, works, and writes in the middle of America. He studied law at Oxford University and worked for eight years as a corporate lawyer in London and Paris before moving to the United States. He lives in Missouri with his family.

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
Advertisement