Beaverton

  • Devon Monk & Diana Pharaoh Francis

    In Devon Monk's heart-pounding House Immortal series, 11 powerful Houses control the world and all its resources. But now, in Infinity Bell (Roc), the treaty between them has been broken, and no one — not even the immortal galvanized — is safe. Caught in a cat-and-mouse game of lies, betrayal, …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Jared Stone

    After realizing he knew more about TVs than about the meat on his plate, award-winning TV producer and amateur chef Jared Stone purchased an entire grass-fed steer and resolved to make the best use of it that he possibly could. Year of the Cow (Flatiron) follows the trials and tribulations of a home…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • James Anderson

    Ben Jones, the protagonist of James Anderson's haunting debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner (Caravel), is on the verge of losing his small trucking company. A single, 38-year-old truck driver, Ben's route takes him back and forth across one of the most desolate and beautiful regions of the Utah…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Albert Goldbarth

    In his latest poetry collection, Selfish (Graywolf Press), the incomparable and National Book Critics Circle Award-winning Albert Goldbarth explores all things "self-ish": the origins of identity, the search for ancestry, the neurology of self-awareness, and the line between "self" and "other." …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Your Band Sucks

    Jon Fine spent nearly 30 years performing and recording with bands that played various forms of aggressive and challenging underground rock music, and, as he writes in his memoir, Your Band Sucks (Viking), at no point were any of those bands "ever threatened, even distantly, by actual fame." With …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • The Great Detective

    More than a century after Sherlock Holmes first capered into our world, what is it about Arthur Conan Doyle's peculiar creation that continues to fascinate us? Journalist and lifelong Sherlock fan Zach Dundas set out to find the answer. The result is The Great Detective (Houghton Mifflin), a wickedly…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Charles Dubow

    Charles Dubow's Girl in the Moonlight (William Morrow) is a scorching tale of love, passion, and obsession, about one man's all-consuming desire for a beautiful, bewitching, and beguiling woman. Since childhood, Wylie Rose has been drawn to the charming, close-knit Bonet siblings. But none affected…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • A Passion for Paris: Romanticism and Romance in the City of Light

    A unique combination of memoir, history, and travelogue, A Passion for Paris (St. Martin's) is David Downie's irreverent quest to uncover why Paris is the world's most romantic city — and has been for over 150 years. Abounding in secluded, atmospheric parks, artists' studios, cafés, restaurants,…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Paolo Bacigalupi

    National Book Award finalist Paolo Bacigalupi, author of The Windup Girl, delivers The Water Knife (Knopf), a near-future thriller that casts new light on how we live today — and what may be in store for us tomorrow. The American Southwest has been decimated by drought. Nevada and Arizona skirmish…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Chris Hedges

    Revolutions come in waves and cycles. We are again riding the crest of a revolutionary epic, much like 1848 or 1917, from the Arab Spring to movements against austerity in Greece to the Occupy movement. In Wages of Rebellion (Nation), Chris Hedges — who has chronicled the malaise and sickness of …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Naked in the Woods: My Unexpected Years in a Hippie Commune

    In 1970, Margaret Grundstein abandoned her graduate degree at Yale and followed her husband, an Indonesian prince and community activist, to a commune in the backwoods of Oregon. Together with 10 friends and an ever-changing mix of strangers, they began to build their vision of utopia. Naked in the…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Polly Dugan

    Polly Dugan's The Sweetheart Deal (Little, Brown) is the poignant story of what happens when a woman who thinks she's lost everything has the chance to love again. Leo has long joked that, in the event of his death, he wants his best friend Garrett to marry his wife, Audrey. One drunken night, he …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • H. W. Brands

    From master storyteller and bestselling historian H. W. Brands comes Reagan: The Life (Doubleday), the definitive biography of a visionary and transformative president. In his magisterial new work, Brands brilliantly establishes Ronald Reagan as one of the two great presidents of the 20th century, …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Jim Shepard

    Jim Shepard, National Book Award finalist, gives us The Book of Aron (Knopf), a novel that will join the short list of classics about children caught up in the Holocaust. Aron, the narrator, is an engaging if peculiar and unhappy young boy whose family is driven by the German onslaught from the Polish…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Joanna Klink in Conversation with Michele Glazer

    Joanna Klink has won acclaim for poetry of bracing emotional intensity. The poems in her new collection, Excerpts from a Secret Prophecy (Penguin), offer a fine-grained meditation on being alone — on a self fighting its way out of isolation, toward connection with other people and a vanishing world.…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Joseph Kim

    Inside the hidden and mysterious world of North Korea, Joseph Kim lived a young boy's normal life until he was five. Then disaster struck: the first wave of the Great Famine, a long, terrible ordeal that killed millions, including his father, and sent others, like his mother and only sister, on …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Terry Brooks

    After taking up his enchanted sword against the dark sorcerer Arcannen, Paxon Leah has become the sworn protector of the Druid order. Now a critical hour is at hand, as a beloved High Druid nears the end of her reign and prepares to pass from the mortal world to the one beyond. The Darkling Child (…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Lev Grossman

    Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic. But he can't hide from his past, and it's not long before it comes looking for him. Along with…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • April Henry

    When a woman's body is found in a Portland park, suspicion falls on an awkward kid who lives only a few blocks away, a teen who collects knives, loves first-person shooter video games, and obsessively doodles violent scenes in his school notebooks. Nick Walker goes from being a member of Portland's…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Vendela Vida

    In The Diver's Clothes Lie Empty (Ecco), Vendela Vida's mesmerizing novel of ideas, a woman travels to Casablanca, Morocco, on mysterious business. While checking into her hotel, the woman is robbed of her wallet and passport. Though the police investigate, the woman senses an undercurrent of complicity…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Bryan Denson

    In The Spy's Son (Atlantic Monthly), investigative reporter and Pulitzer Prize finalist Bryan Denson tells the riveting story of the Nicholsons — father and son co-conspirators who deceived their country by selling national secrets to Russia. Jim Nicholson was one of the CIA's top veteran case …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Colin Winnette

    Colin Winnette's Haints Stay (Two Dollar Radio) is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer and Meek's Cutoff, meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor. Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • An Evening of Dzanc Authors

    Join us for a special event featuring four Dzanc authors. In The Words and Wisdom of Charles Johnson, National Book Award–winner Charles Johnson, author of Middle Passage, muses about a wide range of topics, from Buddhism to race relations in America and everything in between. In Shya Scanlon's …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • The New Wild: Why Invasive Species Will Be Nature's Salvation

    For a long time, veteran environmental journalist Fred Pearce thought in stark terms about invasive species: they were the evil interlopers spoiling pristine "natural" ecosystems. Most conservationists and environmentalists share this view. However, a growing group of scientists is taking a fresh …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Of Orcas and Men: What Killer Whales Can Teach Us

    The orca, otherwise known as the killer whale, is one of earth's most intelligent animals. Remarkably sophisticated, orcas have languages and cultures and even long-term memories. They are also benign and gentle, which makes the story of the captive-orca industry and the endangerment of their population…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Congressman John Lewis & Andrew Aydin

    Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy, inspired by a 1950s comic book that helped prepare his own generation to join the struggle. March: Book Two (Top Shelf), cowritten by Andrew Aydin (with…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Ian Caldwell

    A lost gospel, a contentious relic, and a dying pope's final wish converge to send two brothers — both Vatican priests — on a quest to untangle Christianity's greatest historical mystery. Ten years ago, Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason's The Rule of Four became a literary phenomenon that sold …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Laura Pritchett

    Ten years ago, Tess Cross left her newborn daughter with her sister and hightailed it out of what she called NoWhere, Colorado. Now she returns to the eastern plains of Colorado, full of raw rage at herself and at the universe, yearning for the life she never lead and the daughter she left behind. …

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • Citizen Canine: Our Evolving Relationship with Cats and Dogs

    Dogs are getting lawyers. Cats are getting kidney transplants. Could they one day be fellow citizens? Cats and dogs were once wild animals. Today, they are family members and surrogate children. A little over a century ago, pets didn't warrant the meager legal status of property. Now, they have more…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
  • The 51 Day War: Ruin and Resistance in Gaza

    In July 2014, Israel launched air strikes on Hamas-controlled Gaza, followed by a ground invasion. The ensuing conflict led to 51 days of war that left over 2,000 people dead, the vast majority of whom were Palestinian civilians. During the assault, at least 10,000 homes were destroyed and, according…

    MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT
Advertisement